Social Media For Bloggers: My Top Picks

social media.png

I’ll admit it, I’m a bit of a social media addict (if Daf is reading this, he’ll be nodding along wearily). I love keeping up to date with my friends, and I think social media is such a useful tool for maintaining friendships, finding out what’s happening in the world and promoting your business, product or service.

Facebook is my particular favourite for personal social media – no word limits on statuses, private groups, options for messaging, the ability to use pages, storage of pictures – the possibilities are endless, and businesses are really harnessing the power of Facebook to connect with their target audiences. If you’re trying to engage younger audiences, Facebook is especially effective.

That’s why it may surprise you to know that Facebook isn’t first or second on my list of favourite social media platforms when it comes to blogging. It’s in third place, behind Twitter and Instagram – and here’s why.

 

twitter.png

Twitter

When I first read about Twitter, it seemed like an absolute nightmare. Who wants to be limited to 140 characters; especially when you’ve got so much to say?! The newsfeed moved too quickly, the hashtag system was confusing and – at the time – it was seen as Facebook for intellectuals, with a definite air of “if your face doesn’t fit, you don’t belong here”.

Thankfully, Twitter is now much friendlier (at times), and it’s great for bloggers. I’d say the majority of my blog viewers are referred by Twitter, and with platforms like HootSuite allowing you to schedule your Twitter posts, it’s a great way to promote your blog posts. It’s a fine line between tweeting too much and annoying people, and not tweeting enough so your posts get lost in busier newsfeeds, but if you can strike the balance, it’s a great social media platform for bloggers.

 

instagram.png

Instagram

When bloggers first started raving about Instagram, I just didn’t get it. There were too many pictures and not enough words. The commenting system puzzled me and I didn’t want to see what celebrities were eating for breakfast (always something with chia seeds, weirdly).

It’s taken a while, but I’ve fallen in love with Instagram, and upload a picture pretty much every day. Mostly they’re pictures of SB, but sometimes there will be photographs I’ve taken while out and about, what I’m eating for lunch (yes, I’ve become one of those Instagrammers) and – as you can see above – a picture of me when I was SB’s age.

If you’re using Instagram to promote your parenting blog, the key is to know your hashtags. While Twitter brought the hashtag to public attention, Instagram is really where it comes into its own. Hashtags are used to find people with similar interests and tastes; to create communities; to enter competitions.

Here’s a few of my favourite Instagram hashtags to use if you’re a parent blogger…

hashtags.png

What are your favourite hashtags? And what’s your favourite social media platform to use with your blog? Let me know in the comments!

You can find me on Twitter at @maddyleigh1994 and on Instagram at @thespeedbumpblog. Although I mostly use Facebook for ignoring messages that start with “Only 3% of people will share this” and looking at pictures of cute dogs/pandas/babies, I do use it for my blog too – my page is The Speed Bump.

18 thoughts on “Social Media For Bloggers: My Top Picks

  1. Hannah (tuesdayschildblog) says:

    Really useful! Thank you. I only set up twitter and instagram last month for my blog. I’m loving instagram but still haven’t quite git the hang of Twitter – im going go keep persevering though! X #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  2. theirishbabyfairy says:

    I agree with all you’ve said. Love facebook but with the new ways pages are working, very few of the people who like your page end up seeing your posts which is a bit frustrating. Like twitter but only got into instagram last week – I’m totally hooked, late starter but love it. Thanks for the hashtag tips – still trying to get my head around those. #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  3. James Hopes says:

    I’ve been on Facebook for 10 years but only bothered with Twitter and Instagram very recently! They each have their merits I guess but I use FB more for my friends and the other more for the blogging! Useful post on the IG tags! #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Katy - Hot Pink Wellingtons says:

    I am a massive IG fan (after previously saying I didn’t understand the point!) I love the positivity and the pretty pictures. I do find that although it drives very little traffic to my blog directly, it’s actually a really great tool for raising awareness of you as a blogger. I find twitter frustrating – I love it for contacting other bloggers easily, but it’s so fast moving that I find my tweets just disappear into the ether with maybe one person clicking on them. #KCACOLS

    Like

  5. jeremy@thirstydaddy says:

    I always find it interesting to hear about all the views that people get from twitter. Maybe I don’t post enough or interact enough, but I find it to be almost completely useless. Facebook is far and away my biggest referrer. #KCACOLS

    Like

  6. rachelbustin says:

    I love Twitter. It’s always been my fav. I am learning more on Instagram nowadays as well. The one I find the hardest to crack is Pinterest. xx

    Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday

    Like

Leave a Reply

