It Was Going So Well…

not the world.png

Considering Daf and I both swear like sailors, and often forget to tone it down around SB, I thought we were doing really well. I hadn’t heard SB swear once – no “oh shit” when she drops something, or “you bugger” when she’s annoyed, and definitely no impromptu “oh fuck!”s in the supermarket. When your toddler repeats pretty much everything else you say, that’s an achievement.

I also thought we were being very cultured, and introducing SB to a range of music that isn’t just Twinkle Twinkle Little Star and Wind The Fucking Bobbin Up. Our most-played album in the car right now is the original cast recording of the amazing musical ‘Hamilton’. The language is a little blue, to say the very least, but it’s music and rap. There’s no way she’s going to pick up on that if she hasn’t picked up on the way we drop swear words into our conversations like there’s no tomorrow, right?

Lately, she’s started singing along to Hamilton. It’s pretty freaking adorable – she has a proper impassioned look on her face when she’s singing; closing her eyes and shaking her head with clenched fists, really getting into the piece. It’s hardly a surprise, considering the theatre degree she was practically born into, but I still never tire of watching her.

This child is cultured, I tell myself proudly. We’re raising her to appreciate good music. Yes, I realise how much of a twat I sound right now. Our comeuppance this afternoon was short and sweet.

Sitting in the car on the way home from work, I switched “Hamilton” on and turned around to watch SB indulging in yet another dramatic performance. Sure enough, she sang the first few lines from the opening number of the show.

“How does the bastard, orphan, son of a whore…”. 

Um, hold the front door! There’s us, congratulating ourselves on a job well done – and in trying to culture our child, we’ve taught her how to swear in spectacular fashion. Not only does she swear; she does it through the medium of song.

We probably should have turned the music off there and then. Responsible parents would have done that (responsible parents probably wouldn’t have had “Hamilton” on with their two-year-old around anyway), and tried to make as little as possible of the swear words – after all, they say that if you ignore it, it doesn’t become a “thing” for them, so they’ll stop saying it.

Us (okay, me) being the polar opposite of most responsible parents, rewound the song twice to see if she did it again (she obliged both times) and howled with laughter. Well, kiddo, if your mind’s been corrupted already, you may as well make the best of it. Sing your heart out, little potty mouth.

I’m not going to win any awards for Mother of the Year… but boy, are her school talent shows going to be fun.

Marvellous Mondays badge by Hello Archie
19 thoughts on “It Was Going So Well…

  1. Faye Elizabeth says:

    Lmao!!! I’ve had all the swear words out of willow – we’ve told her when she says them that only mummies and daddies can say those words. She’s bought that and doesn’t use them but she understands the concept of them… If one of us say “oh shit!” She always like “what? What’s wrong?” Hahah!
    I think being too cautious around kids is silly, and I think you’re a great mum even is SB does swear like a sailor lol

    Like

  2. moderatemum says:

    That’s super cute though 🙂 Me and my sons father like to drop a few shits and f bombs but luckily my sons only influence is Peppa Pig so he only says ‘Oh dear!’

    Like

  3. Kaye says:

    I know what you mean, I struggle to stop myself and as of yet Archie hasn’t copied me but he IS getting there – and I know any day now, he’s going to drop the f-bomb. >_< Thanks for linking up to #MarvMondays. Kaye xo

    Like

  4. mummydaddymia says:

    This made me smile! We have been so careful to not swear around Mia (now 3) but have noticed recently that she says ‘oh for gods sake’ and ‘oh crap’ completely in context so we obviously aren’t that good! I try not to make a fuss as she does it more but it is quite funny when she does it 🙂

    #KCACOLS

    Like

  5. Educating Roversi says:

    Ha ha so funny! We’ve got away with it so far too…and Mini R repeats EVERYTHING. At least SB won’t know how to say those words in a sentence or that they’re anything that shouldn’t be said by a child. #KCACOLS

    Like

  6. fairyqueen says:

    Oh yeah, my boys repeat everything and just love it if I do drop any sort of swear word so they can pick it up triumphantly and bellow it out:)

    mainy – myrealfairy

    #KCACOLS

    Like

  7. Kat says:

    Love this! So funny! I’m quite lucky my daughter doesn’t copy my language, in fact, she often tells me off if it’s a bad word! In a very funny way! #kcacols

    Like

  8. Mouse, Moo and Me Too says:

    Oh I’m such a bad person for doing all the swears – my 3yo is VERY in tune with it and will mock innocently ask me why something is so shit. Must must must curb it. But it’s her fault in the first place that I swear 😉 #KCACOLS

    Like

  9. carolcliffe says:

    Our kids are now old enough to know what swear words are, and are telling tales on their father, or saying to him “Daddy, do you really think it’s appropriate to say that in front of us?!!”. Wait til you get to that stage! #KCACOLS

    Like

  10. Kerry says:

    Ha ha! That made me chuckle. My 4 year old stood once with her hands on her hips saying ‘bugger, bugger!’ after she dropped her drink! I blame the grandparents. #KCACOLS

    Like

  11. Jenni - Odd Socks and Lollipops says:

    Haha kids always manage to surprise you don’t that! That is fairly impressive for a first swear though haha! #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  12. A Moment with Franca says:

    Ah this is so scary as you have to be very careful of what you say or do! They do tend to copy EVERYTHING and also when they grow up they do tend tell everything they see or hear at home to the whole world lol Yes you have to think twice before you say something and it is so difficult sometimes. Although I must admit that sometimes it is funny like in your case! lol Thanks so much for joining us this week. We missed you last time although you were there spreading so much love regardless. 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

