My Tiny Human

I’ve called SB my “tiny human” from the start, but recently it’s becoming even more apparent that she’s her own little person – especially since she started talking in sentences. 

Like, what?

13151524_10154144035454414_8978898657040965237_n.jpg

 

Sometimes I talk to her, something like “What are you doing?”, waiting for her to maybe blink at me like I’m crazy, or possibly just grin, giggle and babble – and she responds with “I putting Teddw Bear bedtime mummy one…two… three!” (Teddw Bear is her favourite teddy, who goes everywhere with her). The “one…two…three!” is as she takes my hand and tries to pull me off the sofa so I can go and look at her little teddy bear daycare set-up.

Where the heck has that come from?

The little phrases she just comes out with – if anyone does anything silly, she says “How rude Daddy!” (there’s nothing quite like blaming Daddy for everything, is there?). She read a book the other day and at the end she said “The end. I read whole thing!” and we’re just sitting there like “holy shit the baby is talking, demon baby, the power of christ compels you, demon baby -“ and then realising, she’s not a baby anymore (and probably not a demon, I hasten to add).

She’s a little person with sayings and quirks and turns of phrase that have us in stitches. Obviously we’re having to be careful what we say – talking about going to the beach the other day translated into half an hour of her saying “bitch bitch bitch” – but it’s amazing to have conversations with her. Sure, they’re about Teddw Bear and “Doggy says woof woof! Shh doggy. Stop in name of plod!” (I blame my mum for that one), but they’re still conversations.

So, we’ve achieved Stage One of toddler parenting: Teach Your Child To Talk. I give it two weeks before we’re initiating Stage Two: Teach Your Child To Shut The Heck Up.

Somehow I don’t think that’s going to be quite so easy.

 

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
21 thoughts on “My Tiny Human

  1. Baby Anon says:

    Ah how lovely. Teddw bear is so cute. It is amazing when children start to speak from silence and nonsensical noises (the stage I’m at now) to fully formed words as they find their place in the world #KCACOLS

    Like

  2. Helen says:

    We spend so long teaching them to walk and talk, then spend the rest of their lives trying to get them to sit still and shut up ☺ Sorry to say, you’ve no hope with that one, she’s going to take after the rest of you 😊She is gorgeous though x

    Like

  3. wendy says:

    Hahaha, demon baby! I love the learning talk to stage, my boy is 3 in a few months and I can’t get him to stop taking now. We have lots of conversations now, it’s so weird as not that long ago his only form of communication was crying.xx #kcacols

    Like

  4. madelinelittlejohns says:

    It’s amazing isn’t it, I love chatting with my 2 year old! She made me laugh yesterday, singing hickory dickory dock to herself, ending in a chant of ‘kick cock, kick cock’. x #KCACOLS

    Like

  5. beautybabyandme says:

    Ha ha I love this! I must admit, I can’t wait to hear Josh start talking but at 5 months that’s quite a way off!! Hope you’re enjoying the crazy chat with little one – so cute!! xx #KCACOLS

    Like

  6. Katy - Hot Pink Wellingtons says:

    Aww, I love hearing my son talk (probably partly because it’s been such a long time coming!) We’re not quite at sentences yet though, that’s so cute! You’re right though, I’m sure in a few months time I’ll be wondering how to shhh him! #KCACOLS

    Like

  7. tammymum says:

    Oh it must be so nice having your little one being able to communicate with you! We’re not quite there yet but she’s saying a few words which is nice. You’re prob right though, when the non stop nattering starts and the attitude we’ll be thinking back to those cute babbling days. Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you can come back again next Sunday xx

    Like

  8. Educating Roversi says:

    My son is nearly 2 and nursery told us the other day that he’s advanced with his talking. My response was “With a chatty mum and dad, how could he not be?!” It’s great being able to have little conversations however basic. It’s a great sense of pride isn’t it? #KCACOLS

    Like

  9. Mum in Brum says:

    Brilliant, this must be such a funny stage. I think I’m going to be in complete awe when Taylor starts talking in sentences – especially if she blames dad for everything! Congrats on reaching stage one – good luck with stage two! #KCACOLS

    Like

  10. bridiebythesea says:

    Brilliant post – my little one said her first word the other day and I had a split second thought of how she’s going to be a complete chatterbox! Well done passing the first stage though 🙂 #KCACOLS

    Like

Leave a Reply

