DAY TWO – #ThirtyDayBloggingChallenge

Welcome back to the Thirty Day Blogging Challenge! Today’s challenge is –

2. The meaning behind your blog name.

cropped-new-header-attempt-1.png

I’ve spoken quite a bit about where my blog name has come from, actually, but it never hurts to go a little more in-depth!

Now I know I have a few readers in the US, and I’m not sure if speed bumps are aΒ thingΒ over there? (I’ve been there, but only in New York City, where the roads are too busy to have speed bumps).

Basically, a speed bump is a man-made obstacle in a road designed to make you slow down a little.

When I got pregnant, one of my parents’ biggest fears was that it was the end of everything I’d aimed for – graduating, a career, my ambitions in the theatre industry etc. They saw it as a stop sign.

It took me a while to come to this conclusion, but once I’d spoken to my lecturers and knew that I wanted to give university my best shot alongisde the pregnancy, I actually said this to my parents – “This pregnancy isn’t a stop sign. It’s a speed bump”.

At the time I was just trying to reassure them – the irony of what I’d just said (y’know, the whole speed bump = bump = baby bump thing) was totally lost on me, until a little while later. It was around the same time that I’d decided to start blogging, as a bit of an outlet for my feelings.

Lo and behold, “The Speed Bump” was born. My pregnancy felt like an obstacle; something with the potential to slow me down – but it was never going to be a stop sign. In the end, my pregnancy – and the blog – also fulfilled the purpose that speed bumps fulfil for cars and their passengers. I don’t like to imagine what my life would be like without SB, and blogging has made me so happy, and opened up so many doors for me.

I think the name is pretty darn accurate.

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
19 thoughts on “DAY TWO – #ThirtyDayBloggingChallenge

  1. baddadu says:

    Works for me – easy to remember which helps! I spend about a month trying to think of a pithy blog name and I’m still not sure I nailed it. #KCACOLS

    Like

  2. justsayingmum says:

    aww I always wondered where your blog name came from – nice to know! And well done you on viewing the pregnancy as a speed bump and not as something to stop you following your other dreams #KCACOL

    Like

  3. ljdove23 says:

    I think it’s a great name and I always assumed that was the reason for you choosing it. I struggled to think of a name for my blog but then lucked out with a surname that seemed to go well with the subject!! #KCACOLS

    Like

  4. min1980 says:

    I love your blog name. Having read a little bit of your story, I guessed that this was the reasoning behind it, and it’s fab! #KCACOLS

    Like

  5. tassiedad says:

    I’ve seen your blog tittle around a bit, and assumed it was a pun on the whole baby bump thing. Thanks for enlightening me, and I’m glad that you refused to stop! #KCACOLS

    Like

  6. anxiousgeek says:

    I like the name a lot. They do have speed bumps in the US (I just asked my American wife) – actually for the record, the original British name for them is/was Sleeping Policemen but I think that’s an old term for them now lost to current generation. #KCACOLS

    Like

  7. Suburban Mum says:

    A very fitting blog name, it’s always nice to find out the reasoning behind blog names and I love yours – it’s very memorable!

    Not much thought went into mine I live in the suburbs and am a mum lol.

    Thank you for linking up to #KCACOLS and I hope to see you back again on Sunday xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

