The 23 Month Update

We have one month until SB is two years old (and then I’ll stop counting in months, honest!). Yikes. This little girl is turning into a walking talking person before our very eyes!

12495253_958159350940273_6038712676101265945_n

We’ve definitely got the measure of SB’s personality now. She’s about as cheeky as it gets, and prone to a tantrum or two if she doesn’t get her way, but she’s overwhelmingly very sweet. She shares nicely (let’s see how long that lasts), loves playing with her friends at nursery, loves to play parent – tucking her teddies in and trying to swaddle them – and is generally very happy and loving.

Her new tricks this month include “eskimo kisses” (basically she rubs her nose against ours); plenty of new words and signs; seeking out a white chocolate mouse from a mile away and wanting every story on her entire bookshelf read to her every night. Her favourite is still very much “The Gruffalo”, whereas we love “I Want My Hat Back” by Jon Klassen (it’s hilarious to read even as an adult, and totally bizarre!).

DSC_0872

Obviously this month has held one major parenting milestone for us – I went away for five nights to Cardiff, to train for my new job. It was a tough week but we got through it, and it was amazing to see Daf and SB again at the train station when I got home, which made it all worth it! I’m now working full time again and absolutely loving it.

As far as development is concerned, SB is still coming along in leaps and bounds. I’m going to do a post dedicated to sign language soon, but she’s still using her signs and accompanying them with words too!

She’s also started counting. It’s bizarre beyond belief to hear her saying “one… two… fee…. four… ‘IVE!”, but she’s picked it up so quickly and we’re so proud. Unfortunately her favourite phrases are still things like “No way”, and she makes demands to “WOK. WOK. WOK” (walk) whenever we’re out and about, but all progress is good progress as far as I’m concerned.

DSC_0863

SB is still loving nursery, and moves up into the Toddler room from her birthday onwards! Eeek! I’m still trying to deny all knowledge of the fact that she’ll be two in less than a month, let alone that she’s moving up a class in nursery!

I know it’s a fairly short update, but there’s not really a huge amount to say this month. I don’t want to get smug and cocky but I think food and sleep-wise, we’ve got no problems to speak of (other than a fairly dangerous white chocolate mouse habit), and even her tantrums are nowhere near as bad as I’d expected from her by this stage – I’m sure they’ll get plenty worse before we’re out of this stage, so I’m not counting any chickens just yet!

Next stop, second birthday!

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
7 thoughts on “The 23 Month Update

  1. mumzilla says:

    One of the things I most regret about not blogging sooner was making a record of things like this. I’m sure I’ve forgotten more than I could ever remember in a sleep deprived haze! Lovely post for a lovely little girl šŸ™‚ #KCAKOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Becky Pink says:

    Ah she’s doing so well, you must be really proud šŸ™‚ I love that picture of her in her Gruffly outfit – just so darned cute! Hope her birthday goes well and you cope OK! We have just had our youngest’s 3rd birthday, I found a it a bit hard to be honest! xx #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tracey @ One Frazzled Mum says:

    I’m totally with her on the chocolate mouse addiction too I love them! It goes so fast doesn’t it, I am in denial that my daughter will be 10 next week! Not impressed at all #KCACOLS

    Like

  4. Suburban Mum says:

    Awww I hope she has a lovely birthday. These updates are great record of her progress. I love the photo of her in the gruffalo outfit – sooo cute!!

    Thank you for linking up to #KCACOLS and I hope to see you back again on Sunday xx

    Like

  5. A Moment with Franca says:

    Aww she is just so adorable!! I love that photo of her holding “The Gruffalo” storybook. That book is also one of Bella’s favourite stories. How lucky you that she is behaving pretty well. Sienna is now 19 months and she hasn’t had eating or sleeping problems but she was very clingy with me since she started nursery. So we had some tough weeks lately but it is not looking better. I think we are passing that stage too. If I’m not wrong SB and Sienna will be in the same school year!!! ! šŸ˜‰ Thanks so much for sharing this at #KCACOLS, šŸ™‚ x

    Like

Leave a Reply

