On Aquariums And Toddlers

SB is poorly at the moment (not that you’d ever tell) and because she’s on antibiotics, she couldn’t go to nursery.

My saintly, perfect-parent dreams were of a day snuggled up on the sofa watching dear God anything but Frozen on repeat. Of course, SB is a hyperactive toddler and shows zero signs of actually being ill, so we did what any good, responsible parent would do – and took her to the aquarium.

aquarium.png

I’ll start off by saying it was brilliant, and SB really enjoyed it. We had some new words (“otter” being the cutest), she got a cuddly toy ray (which we have called “Finn”, in homage to Star Wars – Finn and Rey, geddit?), and she loved pulling faces at all of the fish.

However, visiting an aquarium with a toddler is a very different experience to visiting an aquarium as a childless adult. I present to you, the thoughts that crossed my mind as we strolled around Blue Planet this morning.

  • I hope that glass is strong.
  • Oh, look SB! An axolotl! Can you say “axolotl”?
  • Fuck me. I’m that parent. I’m the parent loudly trying to teach her one-year-old to say “axolotl”. Someone do me a favour and kill me now?
  • We should’ve weaned SB off her dummy before coming here. It’s going to end up in the crocodile pool. Shit.
  • At this rate, SB is going to end up swimming with rays. Hold still. 
  • Taught my daughter to say “ribbit” like a frog. Totes nailing this parenting thing.
  • Loudly proclaimed “oh shit” as I realised a frog was near my face (separated by glass, but still). Any parenting points immediately lost.
  • Do I make SB miss out on seeing the octopus just in case I freak out, or do I face my fear and risk having a total panic attack and passing on my fear of octopus to my child?
  • Yeah sorry SB I think the octopus is asleep, aww what a shame let’s move along.
  • Still saw a tentacle out of the corner of my eye. Stay cool. 
  • really hope this glass is strong.
  • WOW, SB, look at these tarantulas!
  • So I can cope with giant hairy spiders but not an octopus tentacle? I should not have been allowed to procreate.
  • Extremely venomous… shit, I hope this glass is strong.

So if you’re wondering how life will change when you have a child, I can tell you that trips to the aquarium will involve a lot of hoping that glass is strong, and hypothesising how you’d explain to the staff that your child’s dummy/toy/the child itself ended up in the tank with the Nemo fish.

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
Happy Diaries
14 thoughts on “On Aquariums And Toddlers

  1. Faye Elizabeth says:

    That’s a great post! It’s brilliant! I’ve namer taken willow anywhere like this just yet, well, we did take her to folly farm once and she loved that! I know what you mean, once you have a little one you can’t help but think about the safety of things lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dotmakes4 says:

    Sounds like you had a worrying but good time!
    We’ve only been to the aquarium with Dot once, but she was only 13 weeks old and slept the whole time! When we go to Blue Planet again in the summer, it’ll be a different story!

    Laura xx
    #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cvnxena says:

    I love the aquarium! I haven’t managed to muster taking the toddler though! I am already concerned about glass strength haha he has a mean swing! Thanks for sharing! #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tracey @ One Frazzled Mum says:

    Haha I remember being like that when my daughter was little in the sealife centre. I have never been to the blue planet but she has a lot with her dad! #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  5. reimerandruby says:

    So funny and yet so true… I can totally relate when we visited an aquarium before with my little boy. Lovely post! #happydiarieslinky

    Like

  6. A Moment with Franca says:

    haha you made me laugh because I do relate with you! Since you are a parent, anything that you do now is indeed seen in a different way or with different eyes! The experience is definitely different. I’m glad to read that SB had a great time although not sure if you had a great time as having to worried too much must have been exhausting!! LOL just kidding!! I enjoyed reading this post Maddy!! Thanks lovely for sharing this at #KCACOLS. I would love to see you again on Sunday! 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The Anxious Dragon says:

    Lol, I have had the ‘I hope the glass is strong’ thoughts many times when visiting aquariums, especially going through the shark tunnel!!
    Thanks for sharing with us, Traceyxx #happydiaries
    P.s octopus phobia, is there a story behind that?

    Like

Leave a Reply

