It’s Beginning To Feel A Lot Like…

…well, nothing, really.

I’ve tried, I really have. We’ve got a plug-in mulled wine air freshener, filling the flat with a festive fragrance. We’re eating mince pies. The tree is all lit up and we’re listening to Christmas carols in the car.

So why does it not feel like Christmas is a matter of days away?

We’re making it special for SB. We’ve been doing Christmas crafts (we’re working on some toilet roll penguins that we found over at the fab blog of Maestro Mummy) and wearing our Christmas jumpers, but I just don’t feel like we’re in December at all.

The weather doesn’t help. It’s so mild, it feels like early autumn. We went out yesterday and Daf was in just a t-shirt, with me in just a thin sweater. It makes no sense – Christmas is a time for wrapping up warm; for woolly jumpers and coats and dozens of layers. Everyone has been saying how warm this winter has been – apparently it means we’re due a freezing spring, with a hefty helping of snow.

Work has done a lot to dull the festive spirit too. I’ve loved working these last couple of weeks, but there’s only so many times you can hear Mariah Carey belting out ‘All I Want For Christmas Is You’ while you direct the fifth person in the last ten minutes to the aisle where the brandy butter is kept. I’m not staying on after Christmas, so it’s onwards and (hopefully) upwards from there, but I really have enjoyed my first taste of supermarket work.

It’s not been without its obstacles, however. Hugely prolonged use (Daf estimates that I’ve been walking over ten miles in each shift) and a nasty twist have left me with some kind of knee injury, that saw me put onto the checkouts instead for a few days – and getting a knee x-ray. I went back to my usual job today, and am now laid up on the sofa faced with the prospect of calling in sick again tomorrow, because the knee has swelled up and I can’t walk properly. Fab, right?

The most important thing, however, is that SB has a good Christmas. As far as Daf and I are concerned, as long as we’re all together then everything is good. SB’s presents have gone to Father Christmas, ready for him to deliver them on Christmas Eve, and family presents are (mostly) wrapped.

I am hopeful that the Christmas spirit is on its way, but has gotten slightly delayed this year. Even if not, I know we’ll make it a special one for SB – and that in itself will be special for us.

2 thoughts on “It’s Beginning To Feel A Lot Like…

  1. Faye Elizabeth says:

    I feel you! There’s a real lack of festive feeling this year, I feel the same. I maybe feel s little bit festive when I’m wrapping but that’s it! That’s as far as it goes, hopefully it will get better.
    Sorry to hear your knee is bad 😦 hopefully it improves for you soon xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

