Butlins: Day One

butlins 1.png

Yes, just like we did last year, we have come to Butlins Minehead for their festive weekend! Things are a little different this year – last year, as we were reviewing the site for Mumsnet, we had a gold apartment and the premium dining plan. This year we’re in a room only (which, as D pointed out, looks slightly prisoner-of-war camp-ish on the outside, but more on that in my review coming soon!), but I did fork out for the food court dining plan.

Day one of our trip didn’t exactly go as planned. For some inexplicable reason (probably because I wanted the money) I agreed to work an eight hour shift beforehand. So up at just after 4am, in work by 6am and finally clocked off at two. Thankfully Daf had been super-organised (and I didn’t do too badly either), and we were already packed and ready to set off straight away.

It was all going fairly well, until we were halfway down the motorway, when the van in front kicked up a stone that hit our windscreen, resulting in a lovely crack that grew… and grew… and grew. To make matters worse, I’d been leaning over when the stone hit, which sounded like a gun going off, so I thought I was going to die. We managed to stay calm, however, and we called the insurers, arranged a replacement windscreen for Tuesday, and were assured that we were safe to keep going. Phew.

By this point, the delay meant we’d missed dinner, so we pulled in at THE poshest services I’ve ever seen, near Gloucester. This place was literally amazing; the food was fantastic and they had the cutest little eco playground indoors for SB! She had a fab time, letting off some steam before we got back in the car!

We finally made it to Butlins at 8pm, by which point we’d all been awake for around sixteen hours and were absolutely shattered. SB had napped in the car, but Daf and I were beyond exhausted, and couldn’t wait to just fall into bed. Besides, we had a lot to do in the next few days – memories to make, events to enjoy, pictures to take…

Until I turned on my camera and saw the red flashing “low battery” symbol. Where’s the charger? Oh, just a six hour drive away, back home…

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
10 thoughts on “Butlins: Day One

  1. Jenna says:

    Ooo, I didn’t know Butlins did a festive weekend. 🙂

    Sorry to hear you didn’t have the best start to your trip but I hope it improved after that. I’m looking forward to hearing more. xx

    Like

  2. mumisthewordblog says:

    Sounds like you and quite an experience in the first 16 hours alone. What you like forgetting the camera charger, I say this is totally down to Daf’s organising rather than your own right? I would have been terrified hearing that stone hit. Let’s hope you had a good nights sleep and tomorrow was a better day! #KCACOLS

    Like

  3. cvnxena says:

    We go to butlins every year and love it! admittedly we don’t do 8 hour work shifts beforehand :p it’s stressful enough! hope the rest of the holiday wasn’t that bad! #KCACOLS

    Like

  4. veronica lee says:

    Sounds like you had quite a start! You know, I always have recurring dreams of me being on a fantastic vacation and forgetting to bring the camera! I can really imagine how bummed you were!

    #KCACOLS

    Like

  5. A Moment with Franca says:

    Oh no Maddy!! What a luck!! I’m glad to hear that you managed to arranged a replacement windscreen though. I can’t believe you forgot your charger? What did you do? I guess just take the photos with your mobile? I’m no so curious now to find out every single details of what happened that weekend!! Thanks so much for sharing this at #KCACOLS! I hope you join me again tomorrow for the last #KCACOLS of 2015!!! 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

