Life Update

I know a while ago I posted an update warning that posts may be few and far between in the coming weeks. So far, I’ve managed to keep up (mostly) and bring out new posts once every day, or once every couple of days, and I figured it’s time for a mini update on where we’re at with life and – well, everything really!

So the big focus of that last update was my health. I’ve cut out gluten and dairy almost entirely, and it’s made a huge difference to my IBS – I feel like I have so much more energy. However, it’s made no difference to the pains I’ve been in and out of hospital with, effectively confirming that those aren’t IBS pains. I’m still taking Tramadol, but I’ve reduced it quite a lot to avoid getting addicted to it.

Of course, everything always comes in threes, so on top of that, I’ve also had a sudden hypermobility flare-up (if you imagine every joint in your body deciding it’s going on holiday at the same time, you’re pretty close – SB dislocated my thumb entirely the other day, which was a new experience and not one I’m eager to repeat, and I managed to click my elbow out of joint just by opening my arms to hug her), and I came down with a weird flu-like virus. I started having palpitations, crazy dizzy spells, unable to catch my breath and feeling like I was going to faint just for raising my head, and I was starting to panic. That same night, SB came out in a slapped cheek rash, and my mum confirmed that I’ve never had it either. The NHS website informed me that it can cause severe anaemia in some adults, and seeing as I’ve been anaemic since I was fourteen, I’m pretty sure that’s what happened – it just totally depleted whatever iron I did have, leaving me feeling horrendous.

I’m coming out the other side of all of that though, and starting to feel human again, which is always great. SB has been a little trooper – while I was curled up on the sofa feeling sorry for myself, she’s been quite happy to play and chatter. She’s such a chatty little soul recently, there’s no shutting her up (not that I’d want to – I love our little barely-intelligible conversations!).

In terms of what else is happening in our lives, I have good news! I have a job induction next week, and a university interview on December 10th. I went ahead and submitted my Masters applications, so now begins the anxious wait to find out if I’ve gotten in. Things are really starting to look up on that front.

Daf is working hard at his essays and his dissertation. At times I think it’s getting on top of him, but I know he can do it, and I’m so proud of him. I’m trying to help as much as possible – either by giving him some academic writing tips, or by reminding him to take a break and play Minecraft for a bit every so often, to stop him from feeling like he’s drowning in work!

Meanwhile SB is just her gorgeous little self. She’s coming out with more words every day and more signs to accompany them, and although she’s a cheeky little thing – her forte is doing something she is definitely not supposed to be doing, and then giving us a grin like it excuses it all (which it often does) – she’s also so sweet, and loves waving, blowing kisses and beaming at everyone she sees.

I can’t believe we’re almost at December! It’s crazy to think about how quickly this year has gone. By the time we reach January, there will be less than four months until SB turns two! How crazy is that?!

Run Jump Scrap!
One thought on “Life Update

  1. Sarah Howe (@RunJumpScrap) says:

    Ah bless being in pain and feeling unwell is generally horrid – I hope they can get to the bottom of it for you. Sounds like SB has been a real trooper and being very gorgeous. Good luck with the job. All go right before Christmas. Thanks for sharing with #bestandworst and see you soon xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

