Sundays with SB #1 – The Sun is Shining!

After a bleak start to autumn, with drizzle and wind and chilly weather, it was a pleasant surprise to wake up this morning to summer making a brief comeback! It’s warm and sunny, with barely any clouds in the sky – perfect to get out and about!

We took SB into town, where our university (I have to get used to saying “D’s university” now, as I no longer go there!) is holding a funday for a local charity. There was lots going on – face painting, fairground rides, bouncy castle and lots of stalls and events. It was all a bit much for SB, who’s been in a bad mood the past few days – I think teeth are to blame – so we didn’t stay long, but it looked like a great day, and I can’t wait until SB can go on some of the rides and bouncy castle in a couple of years!

Although she was feeling miserable, there was nothing a ride on Daddy’s shoulders couldn’t fix – check out that grin!

DSC_0131 DSC_0126

We went into town to get some more books – since SB’s been taking more of an interest in reading lately, I’m more than happy to encourage it! We picked up some more Julia Donaldson books – Stick Man, What the Ladybird Heard and the Welsh translation of The Gruffalo – and while we were there, SB took Β a liking to a cuddly toy of the Gruffalo’s Child, so of course, she came home with us!

Since getting home, SB has been seriously clingy. She’s clinging to me like a limpet, which is making D feel a bit low, but I think it’s just a security thing, and she just wants one person – it’s not anything against D. She’s been cuddling up to the Gruffalo’s Child, and is now on my lap, chewing on the Sharky teething brush we bought a few months back. It certainly seems to be doing the trick for her!

DSC_0118

I’m feeling under the weather too. I’ve got an MRI on Wednesday which should give some answers, but they still can’t be sure it’s not appendicitis, so it’s a trip to A&E if I start being sick. Having my appendix out doesn’t sound ideal, but I’m prepared for it – especially if this turns out to be an abcess on my appendix, like they’ve said it could be. Not the best start to my year as a stay-at-home mum, but things could be worse. For today, though, I’m on the sofa in my pyjamas, chock-full of Tramadol, and looking forwards to seeing SB’s godmother Steph, one of our closest friends, who is coming over a bit later.

I’m going to start doing Sundays with SB as a weekly feature – Sundays are our family day, and we try to do something fun, whether it’s swimming, days out or even just a play day at home.

There’s lots of exciting things coming to the blog soon – a series of interviews with D, about his experiences supporting me in my studies, balancing being a dad with his studies, and his experiences of supporting a young parent and adapting to fatherhood – The Speed Bump Daddy Diaries!

Happy Sunday, everyone!

Leave a Reply

