NO NO NO NO

This post has that title for two reasons.

The first is that it’s my reaction every time anyone reminds me that SB is a year old in less than three weeks. I’ve gone beyond disbelief and into pure denial. I look at her, and I don’t think she looks like a one year old, but at the same time, she’s so grown up. We went to the park today and she went on the swings and loved it! She’ll chatter away to me (currently mastering ‘Hiya’ and ‘Oh no’, combined with holding her head like she’s shocked, as well as babbling like there’s no tomorrow) and is desperate to get walking, but she looks so tiny and adorable still, I don’t feel like my little baby is about to become a toddler.

As well as that, I don’t know if I feel ready to be the mum of a one-year-old. People are always asking me how old she is, and the thought of answering ‘a year’ feels so strange and alien, when I’m so used to talking in months (and, before that, weeks!). I can’t believe how quickly this first year has gone, even though at times it probably seemed to be dragging.

The second reason the post is titled ‘NO NO NO NO’ is that we’re having to use it more and more with SB. She’s discovering her mischeivous side; her exploits including climbing onto everything, pulling everything onto the floor, getting into everything she shouldn’t and just generally causing trouble.

The problem is, every time we say ‘No’, she loves it. She’ll grin, and the more we repeat it, the more she smiles, until we can’t say ‘no’ any more. It’s adorable, but makes discipline SO hard.

IMG_0102

 

3 thoughts on “NO NO NO NO

  1. elliebearbabi says:

    I remember feeling like this when “mini” turned one and had the same thoughts in jan when she turned two, all of a sudden they seem so grown up don’t they when they are one. Lovely pics look like shes enjoying the swing #mummymonday

    Like

Leave a Reply

