Exhausted but elated…

What a week.

There’s been stress. There’s been tears (there have been SO many tears). But there’s also been happiness, and fun, and love, and above all, pride.

After my last update, I think the next day was Thursday, which was World Book Day. I love World Book Day – anything that promotes reading is positive in my book. I’ll probably change my mind in a few years’ time when I’m rushing to put together an awkward costume that will have been ripped off by noon, but for this year, when the Eeyore costume we bought before she was born was perfect for the occasion, it was a chance to take some SUPER cute photos.

eeyore

After that, all thoughts turned to my dissertation. I was really starting to get worried, and one thing after another was going wrong. The day before, I went into the venue to make arrangements, only to find out they’d double booked, had a conference taking place there and I had less than 24 hours to adapt the piece to fit a smaller space with different lights and technology. Then, the other performances through the day were running late, so a lot of people had to leave before mine. Then there was throwing a shit fit because someone threatened to heckle, which stressed me out beyond anything else and resulted in me refusing to perform unless he was kicked out. Finally, everyone was seated, and my computer crashed, froze while installing updates, and took ages to load back up again, delaying us even longer. But finally, finally, finally we got going.

Suffice to say, I have never been prouder of anything I have written, than I was of that dissertation. I was so proud of the way D and I performed it, and people’s responses blew me away. People have signed up to donate blood, bone marrow and organs off the back of that performance – lives are going to be saved as a result of it. I don’t know how I managed it (but D’s help played a major role), but I am really, really proud of that performance. I’m so thrilled that my parents, brother and sister and SB were able to be there – it meant so much to me that they’d been able to come and see it.

As you can tell, I’m still on a bit of a high, a day later! Today we went to Chester Zoo, as SB’s aunt and uncle adopted a red panda for us for Christmas, and today was an Adopter’s Day where we could get into the zoo for free. We went along, took loads of photos, and although SB was puzzled by most of the animals, she loved seeing some of them, and seemed to really love spending some quality time with us. Some real family time was just what we needed after all the stress and time we’ve spent apart the last few weeks! It was perfect!

DSC_0551 DSC_0563 DSC_0575 DSC_0022 DSC_0400 DSC_0410 DSC_0427 DSC_0432 DSC_0446 DSC_0493

One thought on “Exhausted but elated…

Leave a Reply

