Back to Basics

I know lately I’ve been going into a sort of social-commentary-slash-philosopher-slash-lovey-dovey-hippie-blogger the past few weeks or months, and I think it shows in the quality of my posts. I think it’s time to get back to basics – the down and dirty, all too honest truth of being a young parent.

I also want to head back in time at some point, and write a post that I found too difficult to write when I started my blog – I wrote a little bit about it, but not in the sort of detail and honesty that the rest of this blog gets, and the honest reason is that I would cringe and get quite upset whenever I thought about it – it’s the subject of how I told my parents I was pregnant at 19.

In all honesty, it still makes me a little uncomfortable to think back to that time; to how badly I handled it and how small I felt afterwards, but I promised honesty, and that’s what I’m going to do. No more musing on how other parents and other bloggers live and write – just the honest truth; everything Emma’s Diary didn’t tell you, and everything the parenting books don’t tell you now.

So that’s in the pipeline, and I’m a little nervous at the thought of writing it, so it’ll probably wait until my dissertation is done (only a few weeks left now). I’m also going to try and get back into some of my old Emma’s Diary-style posts that I did during pregnancy – I’ve got a few parenting books in my arsenal now (call it research), and boy, is there aΒ lotΒ they conveniently ‘forget’ to tell you about baby’s first year.

More than anything, I want to reclaim the humour that people told me they loved – I lost it for a while back there, because I hid it under the guise of posting ‘thinky’ blog entries. Hopefully before long, we’ll be back to The Speed Bump people knew and loved – far too much honesty, far too little shame and a LOT of information you need to, but really didn’t want to, know about parenting.

So if you’ve just read through the last few posts on my blog, and are thinking ‘Nah, this isn’t for me’, stick around – there’s good stuff to come, I swear.

2 thoughts on “Back to Basics

  1. aliceyoung8 says:

    Hi, really nice to come across your blog. I’m a young student mum too. Found out I was pregnant in my first year of uni and finished that year then deferred for a year and managed to transfer and am now in my second year. So can completely relate to trying to make everyone want to know that just because you have a baby doesn’t mean your life is on hold! Looking forward to reading more of your posts, thanks for linking up #MummyMonday x

    Like

    • The Speed Bump says:

      Thanks! Nice to find some more student parent blogs! I think had I been in my first year I would’ve deferred; I was lucky and got pregnant right at the start of second year, so I had my baby right at the end of second year and had the whole summer to get used to it before going back for third year. Love your blog πŸ™‚ x

      Like

Leave a Reply

