The Speed Bump cruises into 2015…

There’s just over twenty four hours left of 2014. What a year it’s been.

I started the year nervous, unsure and scared of what was to come. I made resolutions, to budget (well, we’ve not run out of money at all, so we seem to be doing pretty well), to be less nervous of phoning people (I’m still working on that one) and to put our baby first. When it comes to that last one, I think we’re definitely succeeding.

Last year, this was us –

1485082_558053997617479_602297396_n

And now, here we are – happy and healthy, with our eight month old daughter –

10411099_743515449071332_7055637780805827434_n

It’s incredible how much can change in a year. As for what I hope for 2015… I hope we continue to have good health. I hope I graduate with a good grade, and manage to get a job or continue in education. I hope D does well in his second year (I’m sure he will). I hope SB continues to thrive at nursery, and I love watching her develop every day. The one thing I don’t have to hope is for us to be happy – with my family around me, I know that’s a given.

We entered 2014 as two nervous, unprepared students, facing an uncertain future and a whole heap of responsibility we certainly didn’t feel ready for. We leave the year as a happy family, finding something positive in each day to keep us smiling.

One thing I vowed when I started this blog was to be totally honest. That meant talking about the tough times, no holds barred – but it also means proving that being a young parent doesn’t have to “ruin your life”. In fact, in many cases, it enhances your life, and sends you in an entirely new, but infinitely better, direction. I don’t want to imagine what my life would be like if I didn’t have my daughter – it wouldn’t be as good as it is now, that’s for certain.

From our family to yours,

Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “The Speed Bump cruises into 2015…

  1. Hannah says:

    Hey there, I’ve been reading your blog since I was pregnant and although we’re in different situations, a baby changes everything whatever age you are. I love reading your posts, it’s refreshing to read a blog that doesn’t promote a certain method of parenting and look down at other parents. I look forward to reading more post in 2015! Here’s our (not so) little bundle…

    Happy New Year to you and your family

    Like

Leave a Reply

