Adventures in Baby-Wearing

Immediate thought – baby wearing is a bit of a weird name. It isn’t literally wearing a baby. It’s having a strange fabricy thing wrapped around you, complete with baby. 

Thoughts immediately after putting sling on – wow. It IS like wearing the baby against me. I like this. 

 

As you’ll have seen in a previous post, I wasn’t particularly interested in babywearing until SB became quite colicky in evenings, and she does cry to be held – she’s a sociable little thing and gets lonely quickly, being cuddled by D and I seems to stop her screaming sraigh away. I had been looking into getting a sling – we have a baby carrier, but it didn’t look particularly comfy for her, and didn’t allow for the same kind of comfort level. 

A family member very kindly allowed us to use her old sling – the BabaSling, available here – and, after a couple of attempts, we cracked it! Having a wriggly baby doesn’t make it easy, and I know they advise practising with dolls or teddies first, but until they invent a doll that will wriggle around uncontrollably, it’s not going to work. Still, finally we managed to get her into it, and from my point of view, it’s great. 

It’s comfy, well padded, feels secure, it’s big and the straps are adjustable. I can imagine myself going out and about with her in the sling – not quite ready for it yet, but I may experiment in the next couple of weeks with walking her to the clinic and the high street in the sling. I feel close to her but I have my hands free – I can get things done, but it still feels like I’m having a cuddle. I can picture myself taking her everywhere, having a productive day and yet my stress levels will not rise at all (she’s great for lowering blood pressure). 

Any negative points? It can take a little bit of time to get used to, and you have to go in with confidence. If you do a half-arsed job of putting baby in the sling, you may find it difficult to get a position comfy for her. That said, the BabaSling website has plenty of instructions, visual guides and videos to help you, and five different positions. Personally, I’d definitely recommend it if you’re a newbie like me!

And as for SB… well, here’s what she made of it at first – ImageBut the proof is in the pudding, as they say, and she is now fast asleep in the sling, quite happy and very comfy. All in all, I’d say that’s a success! 

 

Leave a Reply

