Movin’ on up, movin’ on out…

Sorry about the recent radio silence – if you got all excited and thought SB had made an appearance, I’m sorry (I really am, this baby can’t come quick enough!). Actually we’ve just moved out of awful shared student accommodation into our own shiny new (it really is new, never-lived-in-before!!!) 2 bed flat, just the two (soon to be 3) of us.

So now we’re sorting out all the important bits, like getting internet set up – and I say that without a hint of irony, as internet is genuinely important – and watching our own TV and cooking things in our kitchen and so on (In case you haven’t noticed, I’m making the most of things being ‘ours’, and it’s a great feeling!)

At the moment I’m making the most of using the uni internet when I can (hence the rushed nature of this post), but I thought you’d be interested to know that during the mass-sort-out to pack, I FOUND MY COPY OF EMMA’S DIARY!

I read the entry for 35 weeks, which I now am, and it made me so angry I threw it away. Now I regret it because I have that tiny glimmer of hope that maybe, just maybe, 36 weeks might have been slightly less Hooray-Henry-look-how-middle-class-white-working-woman I am.

I’m kidding, I’m glad to be rid of it. My hate-fire for Emma’s Diary has only been fuelled lately by what I’ve been reading about Bounty, the company who produce these packs for pregnant women, and the behaviour of their reps on postnatal wards. I’m toying with the idea of putting in my notes that I don’t want to be visited by the Bounty woman after giving birth, but the hospital I’m with seems so pro-Bounty with their posters and leaflets everywhere, I’m not sure it’d go down too well.

Lots of appointments coming up in the next week, so it’s going to be busy busy busy from now on. I can’t believe a few months back I was desperate for more appointments, nowadays I’m fed up of being poked and prodded by so many people!

I’ll do more in-depth updates soon – namely about Bounty, with more detail of why I object to them, and also some of the appointments I’ve had or have coming up, just to give you an idea of what a woman with a high-risk pregnancy can expect towards the end of pregnancy (it’s so nice to think I’m coming to the end of it now!). But for now, I’ll retreat back to the wilderness of my unconnected, Broadband-less home…

3 thoughts on “Movin’ on up, movin’ on out…

Leave a Reply

