New Year, Mini Me

Thought I’d throw in a change to the “new year, new me” posts you’ll no doubt have cluttering up your timelines and readers over the next twenty-four hours or so.

For me, 2014 is going to be a year of massive change. From tomorrow, D and I can say we’re becoming parents ‘this year’, and that’s an exciting and scary prospect.

I don’t for a moment believe that next year is going to be plain sailing. This year we’re going to face challenges bigger than either of us can imagine. that’s for sure. And knowing that you’ll spend part of theย  year (even if it is only a few weeks or even days), in pain many describe as “worse than any other pain you can imagine” (and if people actually describe pain as ‘worse than childbirth’, you know they’re lucky to be alive, so I don’t think childbirth pain is to be underestimated)…. it’s not an idea I’ll enjoy, but at least the payoff at the end will be worth it. At least, that’s what I’m holding onto to get me through the next few months without hyperventilating too much.

I’m staying the new year five months pregnant. I’ll be ending it with a seven-month old baby. I can’t predict anothers anymore – if you’d asked me last year how I thought I’d be ending 2013, I’d have probably said I’d be very drunk and making bad life choices.

As it is, one particular bad life choice we made has led us to this point, where we are getting ready to make good life choices. 2014 will be the year we budget, it will be the year I overcome this stupid anxiety of phoning agencies and companies that can help us, it will be the year that we stop thinking of ourselves and remember that while we can help ourselves, we’ve created a little human that can’t, andย  that llittle person thing needs to come first from now on.

I’m doing well with the hamster at the moment. I never forget to feed her and I talk to her a lot. How much more difficult can a tiny little human be?

Err… yeah. You might want to watch this space. 2014 is going to be interesting, if nothing else. As long as I have great friends (I do), an amazing family (I do), D by my side (I do) and this little human-not-a-hamster-but-same-principle-right? (and by May, I will!) I know that nothing can stop us!

Happy new year!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

