This is a little more difficult than I anticipated…

… and other extreme sports.

I’m kidding, of course. I haven’t been lying to you; I’m NOT 11 years old – at least, not any more. However, I have spent the last two mornings pretending to be eleven years old (and, as a result, trying to sneakily cover my lovely not so little bump whilst wearing a tight school blouse that definitely isn’t intended for anyone more than twelve weeks pregnant).

It’s been interesting – and unavoidable, as dressing like a school child wasn’t my idea of fun, but it means that 50% of one of my modules is over and done with, and – if I’m productive enough, the remaining 50% will also be done by Christmas. It’s all essays for this particular module from here on in, which most people complain at, but I’m alright with. I’m not averse to writing – you can probably tell from the fact that I’m writing this now – and essays are more flexible. I can spread out the working across a few days rather than having all the pressure in one go.

So I’ve spent the past couple of days looking at baby things. We’ve bought a cot! Or rather, we’ve ordered it and are picking it up from Toys R Us in the next couple of weeks. We’ve also found the pushchair we’re hoping to buy, which is very exciting, and we’ve even been pricing up nappies (think we’ll be going all modern and ordering them from Amazon on some kind of monthly subscription, in case anyone’s interested, as it works out quite nicely).

Uni has been interesting, as always. I don’t think I appreciated quite how difficult this is going to be. My bump is only small and yet already it seems to be destroying my hips and spine, making it really difficult to walk/move/exist without crying all the time. I’m tired all the time – what’s this about having a sudden burst of energy in the second trimester? -, morning sickness keeps creeping back in and taking me by surprise from time to time (including in ALDI car park, whoever pulled up and parked with your door right above my sick as we were leaving, I am sorry you had to endure that, and even more sorry that we left before I could see your reaction), I’m tetchy and miserable – my patience levels are seriously zero – and, worst of all –

I STILL KEEP CRYING AT STUPID THINGS

Reasons M has cried in the last few days.

  • I miss my family (understandable, right?)
  • ALDI didn’t have mince pies. (until we went round the corner and, as it turns out, they DID have mince pies. I’m not even that big a fan of mince pies).
  • I was watching Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs, and the pickles and marshmallows and leeks all got babies. (I’m pregnant, I’m ALLOWED to cry at babies, ok?)
  • Uni finally started stocking those chocolate chip cookies I’ve missed so much. Oh, and then D bought me one in a lesson. I didn’t cry, but felt very emotional and in love.
  • The music at the start of our assessment is oddly beautiful, so I found myself having to try and stop myself from crying in front of fifty eleven year olds.
  • Crying because we have no fruit bags yet. It doesn’t matter that we have three types of fruit in the room alone – if it isn’t refrigerated fruit, it isn’t good enough for me, apparently.
  • Several “Why are you crying?” – “I HAVE NO IDEA” moments. These are increasing in frequency, and I’m not sure it’s healthy to cry over nothing.

Β 

In addition, we’ve had several CRAZY BABY BRAIN MOMENTS.

Highlights include –

  • Tucking my teddy into bed (I was feeling very maternal and very tired, and that is my excuse and I’m sticking to it). I then went to the toilet, came back and asked who tucked the teddy into bed.
  • Taking the lead and volunteering to warn the pupils about the fire alarms going off for a 2 minute silence… and then very nearly forgetting to warn said eleven-year-olds about said big scary fire alarm followed by two minute long air raid siren.
  • Getting out of bed so that D could push the mattress back (don’t ask), and waking up leaning against the door on the other side of the room, wondering how the hell I got there.
  • I’m sure there’s something else, but – predictably – I’ve forgotten.

Can someone please tell me it’s going to get better, or is it all downhill from here?

3 thoughts on “This is a little more difficult than I anticipated…

  1. leonifay says:

    It does get better. I won’t lie, it gets worse first, but then it gets much better. Especially when you have your baby in your arms, nothing else seems to matter.

    Han in there xx

    Like

  2. Kayleigh says:

    Hi, sorry i’m late to the party! I’m 26, pregnant with my second, have a toddler, and still don’t feel grown up and ready.

    Just wanted to tell you that we get my son’s nappies through Amazon Subscribe and Save and it is brilliant. We’ll be doing the same with Bug 2 (current name for the baby) when he arrives in January. Amazon take the money from your account and the nappies (and wipes, we get the Pampers Senstive wipes) come every month (or other month for the wipes) it’s a wonderful invention

    Like

Leave a Reply

