Hamstergate Update

Thought it was time we updated on Hamstergate – the whole debacle of me crying and moping because I couldn’t have a hamster.

I did some research and found out that the whole thing about pregnant women not having hamsters is actually rubbish – the statistics for LVCM from pet hamsters in the UK is non-existent, and so many people keep hamsters during pregnancy and have lovely healthy babies. So, we went out on Thursday and bought the cage and the bedding and everything, with the promise that we’d be returning to adopt the hamster on Friday.

We’d just about reached the car when D turned to me and said “I don’t want to wait, let’s get the hamster now”. Cue me skipping and jumping around like a madwoman, almost crying with happiness (I probably would’ve cried, if I hadn’t already used up my yearly quota of tears on unattainable hamsters and missing jam donuts and the bed not having a solid headboard – don’t ask), as we went back into Pets At Home and adopted Tiny, a gorgeous little Roborovski dwarf hamster! I’ve been calling her a girl, as I’m yet to see her boy bits, and she is the cutest thing ever! She has big eyes and this adorable way of looking at you when she’s in her little tubes!

So, there is now one happy little hamster and one happy (big, and getting steadily bigger) pregnant girl in the house! The next issue to tackle is housing – I’ll miss my flatmates, but the thought of our own kitchen and only our washing up to contend with is great, not to mention I’m not sure my housemates would be thrilled at being woken up every few hours by a screaming baby. Now, all we have to do is find a property that will accept students, DSS, a child and a hamster. This could be difficult…

Leave a Reply

