And unto us, a Speed Bump was born…

ImageAfter a slightly unexpected induction for high blood pressure at 37 weeks, an induction and labour lasting over 50 hours (but somehow progressing from 3cm to 10cm in the space of 4 hours), some spaced-out ramblings on gas and air, and three pushes – the Speed Bump ceased to be a bump, and made her – yes, her! – entrance into the world at 11:45pm on Thursday, April 10th 2014, weighing in at 7lbs3oz, with my nose and pretty much everything else of her daddy.

I’ll do the whole birth story (it’s a good ‘un, I promise) later on, but for now I’m going to enjoy being out after a week in hospital, and much much more importantly, we’re going to enjoy our strong, beautiful, precious daughter.

Welcome to the world, SB.

3 Comments

  1. Congratulations Maddie! She truly is a beautiful baby, and well done on such a long labour. Being 12 weeks myself, the thought of 50 hours terrifies me! I’ve been reading your blog since December and have been amazed by your humour and strength. Take care.

    Like

    • Thank you!! Easier said than done but try not to let it terrify you – her birth was one of the most positive, uplifting, funny experiences of my life. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to post my birth story over the next few days and you’ll see what I mean – I’d have another in a heartbeat (although I think this time, I will wait!) ;) x

      Like

Leave a Reply

